Skip to main content

SRB Conference 2021 - Bank resolution: delivering for financial stability

SRB conference | -


Media source

The sixth Annual SRB Conference took place on Thursday 14 October 2021. 

Same as last year, the online conference was a hybrid event, combining live speakers with others taking part virtually. 

Media source




For additional information, you can reach us via SRB-CONF-OCT-2021 [a] (subject: Request)


The conference will be web-streamed in the original language of the conference (English) here

The event will also be livestreamed on our TwitterLinkedIn and YouTube channels.


  SRB Annual Conference 2021 - Bank resolution: delivering for financial stability
Moderator: Melinda Crane  
09:00 – 09:05



  • Elke König, Chair, Single Resolution Board
09:05 – 09:25

Opening Address


  • Mairead McGuinness, European Commissioner for Financial Services, Financial Stability and Capital Markets Union
  • Christian Sewing, CEO, Deutsche Bank
  Session I:  The resolution framework – evolution, not revolution
09:25 – 10.20
  • Panellist 1: Harald Waiglein, Director General for Economic Policy, Financial Markets and Customs, Ministry of Finance, Austria
  • Panellist 2: Paula Conthe, Chair, FROB, Spain
  • Panellist 3: John Berrigan, Director-General, Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union, European Commission
  • Panellist 4: Christian Sewing, CEO, Deutsche Bank
  • Panellist 5: Jan Reinder De Carpentier, Vice-Chair, Single Resolution Board


Q&A with audience

10:20 – 10:30

Keynote Speech


  • Paschal Donohoe, Minister for Finance, Ireland & Eurogroup President
  Session II:  Achieving a home-host balance
10:30 – 11:15
  • Panellist 1: Sasha Mills, Executive Director, Resolution Directorate, Bank of England
  • Panellist 2: Claudia Buch, Deputy President, Deutsche Bundesbank
  • Panellist 3: David Livingstone, CEO EMEA, Citi
  • Panellist 4: Tobias Tröger, Director for the Cluster of Law & Finance, Leibniz Institute for Financial Research SAFE
  • Panellist 5: Sebastiano Laviola, Board Member, Single Resolution Board


Q&A with audience

  Session III :  The impact of the Covid-19 crisis on the banking sector
11:15– 12:00
  • Panellist 1: Andrea Enria, Chair, Single Supervisory Mechanism, European Central Bank
  • Panellist 2: Elena Carletti, Professor of Finance, Bocconi University
  • Panellist 3: Danuta Hübner, MEP, European Parliament
  • Panellist 4: Christian Stiefmüller, Senior Research and Advocacy Advisor, Finance Watch
  • Panellist 5: Mónica López-Monís Gallego, Global Head of Supervisory and Regulatory Relations for Santander Group & Global Head of Recovery and Resolution and Crisis, Banco Santander
  • Panellist 6: Boštjan Jazbec, Board Member, Single Resolution Board


Q&A with audience

12:00 – 12:10

Closing Remarks


  • Pedro Machado, Board Member, Single Resolution Board



Keynote Speakers

2021-01-20 McGuinness.jpg
European Commissioner for Financial services, financial stability and Capital Markets Union at European Commission

Mairead McGuinness is the European Commissioner for financial services, financial stability and Capital Markets Union.

The Commissioner’s vision...

2021-06-11 Paschal Donohoe.jpg

Paschal Donohoe is the Minister for Finance of Ireland, and the President of the Eurogroup since July 2020.

Prior to that, he was appointed Minister of...

Chair at Single Resolution Board

Dr Elke König is Chair of the SRB, responsible for the management of the organisation, the work of the Board, the budget, all staff and the Executive...

2021-05-21 Christian Sewing.jpg

Christian Sewing, born in 1970, has been a member of the Management Board since January 1, 2015. He has been Chief Executive Officer since April 2018...

2021-05-21 Melinda Crane.jpg

Melinda Crane has given speeches and moderated events and discussions for a wide range of international organizations and firms. She is a frequent...

Board Member at Single Resolution Board

Pedro Machado has worked in financial regulation and supervision for close to 20 years. He was the Director of Legal Services and Chief Legal Counsel...

Conference Panellists

2021-06-07 John Berrigan.jpg

John Berrigan is the Director General in DG FISMA (Directorate-General for Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union) of the...

2021-06-07 Claudia Buch.jpg

Professor Claudia Buch, who joined the Bundesbank in 2014, is Vice-President of the Deutsche Bundesbank and head of its Directorates General Financial...

Bocconi University

Elena Carletti is, since October 2013 a Professor of Finance in the Department of Finance at Bocconi University. Previously she was a Professor of...

2021-06-09 Paula Conthe.jpg

Paula Conthe is, since 2020, the Chair of FROB, the Spanish executive resolution authority and, as such, the Spanish representative in the Single...

Vice-Chair at Single Resolution Board

Jan Reinder De Carpentier joined the SRB in 2015 as General Counsel in charge of the Legal Service, SRB Secretariat and Compliance function, providing...

2021-06-07 Andrea Enria.jpg

Mr Andrea Enria took office as second Chair of the Supervisory Board of the European Central Bank in January 2019. Before that he was the first...

Danuta Hubner
Danuta Hübner, Poland's first-ever European Commissioner, is one of her country's foremost economists and policymakers and has played a key role in...
Board Member at Single Resolution Board

Mr Boštjan Jazbec became a Board Member of the SRB in March 2018 and is the Director of Resolution Planning and Decisions. He is responsible for the...

2020-05-14 Sebastiano Laviola.jpg
Board Member at Single Resolution Board

Mr Sebastiano Laviola joined the SRB in 2019, taking charge of resolution strategy and cooperation. This brief covers a range of cross-cutting issues...

2021-06-07 David Livingstone.jpg

David was appointed as EMEA CEO in February 2019.

In this role, David is responsible for Citi’s businesses throughout EMEA, where Citi maintains a...

Banco Santander

Ms. Mónica López-Monís, is Group Senior Executive Vice-President and Head of Supervisory and Regulatory Relations for Santander Group since May 2019...

Bank of England

Sasha Mills is Executive Director of the Resolution Directorate. In this capacity, she advances the Bank’s priorities on financial stability- aimed at...

2021-06-15 Christian Stiefmüller.jpg

Christian M. Stiefmueller, Senior Policy Adviser, Finance Watch

Mr. Stiefmueller is a senior adviser on policy research and advocacy at Finance Watch...

Leibniz Institute for Financial Research SAFE

Professor Dr. Tobias Tröger is the Director for the Cluster of Law & Finance at the Leibniz Institute for Financial Research SAFE. He holds the Chair...

2021-06-07 Harald Waiglein.jpg

Harald Waiglein joined the Austrian Federal Ministry of Finance in 2007 and, after having worked in various areas including taxes and the political...

Previous conferences

Oct 8 2020

SRB Conference 2020 - Banking resolution: firm foundations for stability

SRB conference
Oct 10 2019

SRB Conference 2019 - Bank Resolution: Turning Policy into Action

SRB conference
Oct 15 2018

SRB Conference 2018 - 10 years after the crisis: are banks now resolvable?

SRB conference
Sep 29 2017

SRB Conference 2017

SRB conference
Apr 29 2016

SRB Conference 2016

SRB conference